Why Los Angeles always sucked, until now

Hi fraaands,

If you’ve been reading along you know that I spent 2 awesome, kick-ass, mother-flippin crazy months in South East Asia.

So, as you can imagine, I did NOT want to come back.

But obvs, I did, and I am here and surprisingly, quite happy.

At first I didn’t feel this way. I was going through some heavy reverse culture shock and seriously nostalgic of the beauty of Asia. But now that two months have come and gone, I’ve noticed that my old feelings didn’t return.

I’ve been living in LA for 3 years now, and really didn’t love every moment of it. I focused on all the negative ( traffic) and give it less than 1/2 a chance. I just thought about every other place in the world that I could be. But as the saying goes, the grass isn’t always greener on the other side. It’s the side that gets watered the most that is truly better.

As travel is a never ending reward, my gift from this last trip was a set of new eyes that came with a fresh perspective.

Little by little, week by week, I noticed the change within myself. I kept catching myself noticing things I overlooked so many times before.

The weather, of course, it’s LA. If you don’t know, LA is notorious for almost perfect weather. The unique street art culture. Volunteering, and how much I enjoy it. The hiking. All the small neighborhoods. All the museums that I haven’t been to. The wonderful friends I’ve made.

And today. I awoke to the sunrise, and captured the sunset in my kitchen. It hit me tonight, and inspired this post, that I have a perfect view of the sunrise from my bedroom window and of the sunset from my kitchen window.

FullSizeRender.jpg

I felt so grateful. While I travel I am so attune to everything around me in nature, but when I come home, I don’t even notice.

Why is that? Why did I think that way? Why didn’t I ever appreciate how beautiful the sunset is here in my home?

I think I needed the new eyes, because I couldn’t see it before.

Never did I think these words would earnestly cross my mind, but I can truthfully say that I live in LA and am happy to be here. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Why Los Angeles always sucked, until now

Leave a Reply

